Session 1: Rathbones Folio Prize Writing Masterclasses

Date and time
View Map
5x15 x Rathbones Folio Prize Writing Masterclasses chaired by James Naughtie

Rathbones Folio Prize

'Everyone has a book in them,’ they say. But not everyone manages to write it.

Over three sessions featuring authors shortlisted for this year's Rathbones Folio Prize, some of our finest contemporary writers explain how they translate what is in their heads to the page.

Chaired by the esteemed host of BBC Radio 4’s Bookclub, James Naughtie, these one hour masterclasses will give you food for thought and unique insight into how writing works. Ranging across fiction, poetry and non-fiction, each will feature additional contributions from the award-winning writers Tessa Hadley, William Atkins and Rachel Long - the judges who have the task of picking the winner of the Rathbones Folio Prize 2022.

James Naughtie

James Naughtie, special correspondent for BBC News, is one of the country's best-known broadcasters, having presented Today on Radio 4 for 21 years. He has hosted every edition of Bookclub on that network since it began in 1998 and written and presented many documentaries on books and music on radio and television. Last year he published an account of fifty years of travels in the United States - On the Road - and later this year he will publish the third in a series of espionage novels.

Sunjeev Sahota
China Room

Sunjeev Sahota is the author of The Year of the Runaways and has been shortlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize, the International Dylan Thomas Prize and the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, and he has won the Encore Prize, the European Union Prize for Literature, and the South Bank Sky Arts Award. He was chosen as one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists in 2013. He lives in Sheffield. His latest book China Room is a heart-stopping story of love, family, survival and betrayal.

Damon Galgut
The Promise

Damon Galgut is the author of nine novels. He won the Booker Prize 2021 for The Promise, having been shortlisted for the prize twice before (The Good Doctor and In A Strange Room). He lives and works in Cape Town.

The Promise charts the crash and burn of a white SouthAfrican family, living on a farm outside Pretoria. In this story of a family diminished, sharp and tender emotional truths hit home. Confident, deft and quietly powerful, it is a taut novel from a masterful writer.

Claire Keegan
Small Things Like These

Claire Keegan was brought up on a farm in Ireland. Her stories have won numerous awards and are translated into more than 20 languages. Foster was named by The Times as one of the top 50 novels to be published in the 21st Century. Keegan now holds the Briena Staunton Fellowship at Pembroke College, Cambridge.

Small Things Like These is an exquisite winter tale of courage and its cost, set in Catholic Ireland, this is an unforgettable story of hope, quiet heroism and tenderness.

William Atkins

William Atkins's first book, The Moor, was shortlisted for the Wainwright Prize and his second, The Immeasurable World: A Desert Journey, won the Stanford Dolman Travel Writing Award and the British Library Eccles Prize. He is a guest editor of the travel-writing edition of Granta. His journalism and reviews have appeared in Guardian, the New York Times, and Harper’s. Exiles: Three Island Journeys is published by Faber in 2022. He lives in Suffolk.

Rathbones Investment Management

We see it as our responsibility to invest for everyone’s tomorrow. That means doing the right thing for our clients and for others too. Keeping the future in mind when we make decisions today. Looking beyond the short term for the most sustainable outcome. This is how we build enduring value for our clients, make a wider contribution to society and create a lasting legacy.