Session 3: Rathbones Folio Prize Writing Masterclasses

Date and time
View Map
5x15 x Rathbones Folio Prize Writing Masterclasses chaired by James Naughtie

James Naughtie

James Naughtie, special correspondent for BBC News, is one of the country's best-known broadcasters, having presented Today on Radio 4 for 21 years. He has hosted every edition of Bookclub on that network since it began in 1998 and written and presented many documentaries on books and music on radio and television. Last year he published an account of fifty years of travels in the United States - On the Road - and later this year he will publish the third in a series of espionage novels.

Rathbones Investment Management

We see it as our responsibility to invest for everyone’s tomorrow. That means doing the right thing for our clients and for others too. Keeping the future in mind when we make decisions today. Looking beyond the short term for the most sustainable outcome. This is how we build enduring value for our clients, make a wider contribution to society and create a lasting legacy.

Rathbones Folio Prize

'Everyone has a book in them,’ they say. But not everyone manages to write it.

Over three sessions featuring authors shortlisted for this year's Rathbones Folio Prize, some of our finest contemporary writers explain how they translate what is in their heads to the page.

Chaired by the esteemed host of BBC Radio 4’s Bookclub, James Naughtie, these one hour masterclasses will give you food for thought and unique insight into how writing works. Ranging across fiction, poetry and non-fiction, each will feature additional contributions from the award-winning writers Tessa Hadley, William Atkins and Rachel Long - the judges who have the task of picking the winner of the Rathbones Folio Prize 2022.

Natasha Brown

Natasha Brown is a British novelist. She is a 2019 London Writers Award recipient, a 2022 Burgess Fellow at the University of Manchester’s Centre for New Writing, and a Women’s Prize x Good Housekeeping Futures Award finalist. Her debut novel Assembly was shortlisted for the Folio Prize, the Goldsmiths Prize and the Art Seidenbaum Award. Assembly is an unconventional story of a woman on her way to a garden party.

Gwendoline Riley
My Phantoms

Gwendoline Riley is the author of First Love, which was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Goldsmiths Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Gordon Burn Prize, and which won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; as well as Cold Water, Sick Notes, Joshua Spassky and Opposed Positions. In 2018, the TLS named her one of the twenty best British and Irish novelists working today.

My Phantoms is an emotionally complex, caustic novel about the bond between two people, which will make you question everything you thought you knew about family, love and building a life.

Rachel Long

Rachel Long’s debut collection, My Darling from the Lions (Picador 2020 / Tin House 2021) was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, The Costa Book Award, The Rathbones Folio Prize, and the Jhalak Prize. She is the founder of Octavia Poetry Collective for women of colour, housed at the Southbank Centre, in London.